Ages of Wonder

Scotland's Art 1540 to Now
Ages of Wonder: Scotland's Art 1540 to Now
Publisher: RSA
Dimensions: 22 x 24 cm
Pages: 132
ISBN: 978-0-905783-39-0
£ 8.00

Exhibition catalogue for the Ages of Wonder Exhibition, 4 November 2017 - 7 January 2018.


Ages of Wonder takes its shape from the moment in 1910 when the Royal Scottish Academy (RSA) transferred a number of significant works to the National Gallery of Scotland (NGS), in return for securing exhibiting rights within the RSA building shared by the two institutions today. The Academy had been a driving force behind the establishment of a national collection, and the NGS and RSA had previously coexisted in the building on the Mound that is now the NGS. Ages of Wonder reunited RSA works transferred to NGS with a selection of those remaining in the Academy’s Nationally Significant Collection and those collected by the Academy up to the present day.


The exhibition included over 450 works by over 270 artists and architects, from the masterpiece The Adoration of the Magi by Jacopo Bassano of 1540, to Diploma Works by Callum Innes RSA and Alison Watt RSA, and works commissioned for and during the Exhibition by Calum Colvin RSA, Kenny Hunter RSA and Richard Murphy RSA.